Zuiganji Temple

Zuigan-ji is a famous temple that Masamune Date revived with 130 master craftsmen in 1609 (Keicho 14). The Hon-dou hall is not available due to the repair until about March, 2018. Meanwhile, the principal image in the Hon-dou hall, Sandai the founder's image, the mortuary tablets from Masamune Date to the12th general Narikuni are exhibited in the Daishoin (large study room), the Buddhist priests' living quarters. You can see the magnificence of 62 Mangoku Daimyos wealth. In addition, there is the remains of a cave at the end of the pathway to the shrine where the old trees of cedars of more than 400 years grow thick, which shows that Matsushima was a place holding a service for a dead person.

The cave remains group where a toba, a five-ring tower, a posthumous Buddhist name is engraved into

[ Access ]
It is a 7-minute walk from JR Matsushima-Kaigan Station
[ Hours ]
From 8:00 to 17:00 (March & October: until 16:30. February & November until 16:00. January & December: until 15:30)
[ Fees ]
700 yen for adults, primary and secondary student 400 yen
[ Closed ]
Open everyday
[ Links(Japanese) ]
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites