Nagoya Castle

The Nagoya Castle was built in 1610 (Keicho 15) by an order of Ieyasu Tokugawa. A famous admiral including Kiyomasa Kato and Toshiie Maeda at the time undertook construction. It spent time of two years and was completed. Until the Meiji Restoration, it prospered afterwards as a castle of the lead Owari Tokugawas of Tokugawa three branch families of the Tokugawa house. The most were destroyed by fire by the war of World War II, but, fortunately, three oars and fusuma pictures which avoided a disaster are appointed to an important cultural property, and they are opened to the public at the castle tower. The castle tower which has "gold killer whale" (Kin-shachi) on the top of a castle is got close to as a symbol of Nagoya. At the castle tower, an important cultural property and an art industrial art object are displayed. Nagoya of the Edo era and the state of the castle town are reproduced clearly. "The history of the Nagoya Castle" is introduced "a castle town and the living of the feudal lord" on the fifth floor "the inside of a castle" on the fourth floor on the third floor. You can do a time travel in the Edo era. "The gold killer whale" was a spell of the protection against the spread of a fire in those days, but was given glory to a flat ridge of a roof as a symbol of the authority later. There is a replica of the size of the original in the hall under the ground

[ Access ]
It is a 5-minute walk from subway Meijo Line Shiyakusho Station
[ Hours ]
From 9:00 to 16:30
[ Fees ]
500 yen
[ Closed ]
From December 29 to January 1
[ Links(English) ]
[ Links(Japanese) ]
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites