Otaru canal

Originally Otaru full of herring fishing prospered more as the port where a constructor carried in material to for a building of Sapporo when the Meiji era began. The creation construction of the canal began in 1914 (Taisho 3) to arrange a ship and the freight which increased, and approximately 1,300m in length, a canal of 40m in width were completed in 1923 (Taisho 12). A lighter with the freight crowded from the last years of Taisho era to the Showa era, but decreases sharply in the 30, Showa generation. A canal debate was discussed among citizens over preservation or landfill, and, in 1986 (Showa 61), half south side was filled up, and it was afterwards in a walk road. The old warehouse is used by a shop or a restaurant, and a gaslight is turned on of a walk road and calls for popularity now as a representative tourist attraction of Otaru.

[ Access ]
It is a 13-minute walk from JR Otaru Station
[ Fees ]
Free of charge
[ Links(English) ]
[ Links(Japanese) ]
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites